Types of Elections

Election Years
  • Municipal Elections are held in odd numbered years.
  • National, state, and county elections are held in even numbered years.
General Elections
In the general election, you elect these officials for 2-year terms:
  • Member of the U.S. House of Representatives
  • Members of the North Carolina House and Senate
  • County officials*
*these are sometimes 4-year terms

Presidential Election

In a presidential election year, and every 4 years thereafter, you also elect:
  1. United States President and Vice President
  2. Governor
  3. Attorney General
  4. Secretary of State
  5. State Auditor
  6. State Treasurer
  7. Superintendent of Public Instruction
  8. Commissioner of Labor
  9. Commissioner of Insurance
  10. Commissioner of Agriculture
There was 1 United States Senator elected in 1996 and every 6 years thereafter. The other U.S Senator was elected in 1998 and every 6 years thereafter.